MOVING TO NEW FORUM link https://telestreamforum.forumbee.com This forum will become READ ONLY on Wednesday May 25, 2016

Telestream Community Forum
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Stream To FB Live & YouTube Simultaneously
Topic Summary:
Created On: 4/21/2016 6:17 PM
Status Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Topic Tools Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
Answer This question was answered by CraigS, on Monday, May 23, 2016 2:55 PM

Answer:
Facebook changed their policy. One might guess they want exclusivity since people were probably sending eyeballs to YouTube.
Sigh! People could make requests to change the policy to Facebook but they're probably looking at lost ad revenue if they allow people to stream to YouTube so they may not be inclined to change.
Sorry but this is not our decision, we have to comply to their requirements.
 4/21/2016 6:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SOMalley89

Posts: 4
Joined: 4/21/2016

Is it possible to stream the same source to both FB Live & YouTube?

Thanks!
 4/21/2016 7:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigS

Posts: 54277
Joined: 4/4/2007

Sure. Wirecast can stream to multiple CDNs at the same time as long as your computer has the CPU resources to do it.

-------------------------
CraigS
Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator
 4/21/2016 7:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SOMalley89

Posts: 4
Joined: 4/21/2016

Awesome, thank you for the quick reply! Appreciate it!
 4/21/2016 8:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigS

Posts: 54277
Joined: 4/4/2007

You're welcome of course.

-------------------------
CraigS
Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator
 4/22/2016 11:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Fotokimster

Posts: 86
Joined: 4/15/2014

Do notice that FB only can do 90 min. To restart a FB live you need to stop streaming, which means you stop the Youtube aswell. It will start again as soon as you hit the button, but then you got some seconds where the player is black for the viewer.
My tip here is to use pauses and similar breaks in the live to restart stream if FB is used, and you can't know if the talents/speaker will perform under 90 minutes.

-------------------------
@fotokimster
 4/25/2016 3:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigS

Posts: 54277
Joined: 4/4/2007

Thanks for pointing out that FB has some inherent limits in duration.

-------------------------
CraigS
Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator
 5/5/2016 4:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
armatt

Posts: 2
Joined: 5/5/2016

I will post this in the 'suggested features' but I just want to add my voice to the chorus re: frustration around Facebook's 90 minute limitation. I stream a lot of sports, the events for which are often well over 90mins in duration.

As Fotokimster notes, you have to stop the stream to ALL destinations to set up your new Facebook stream. It'd be great to be able to individually start and stop streams within Wirecast.

For example, I imagine keeping the current 'STREAM' button at top left, which would still have the same functionality - ie: taking all streams live. It also would also have a dropdown arrow, like the transition buttons, where you could optionally toggle separate destinations.

For example, I'd set up my YouTube destination and all my Facebook destinations (say, FB1 and FB2) before going live. I'd start streaming at the start of the event with YT and FB1. At half-time of the game, I might deactivate FB1 and activate FB2, while keeping YT going at all times.

This I hope wouldn't be too complex for Telestream to add but would be a great asset to us sports streamers.
 5/5/2016 3:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigS

Posts: 54277
Joined: 4/4/2007

Regarding the 90 minute limit, you'll have to contact Facebook about that.
Starting streams individually presents some technical challenges. You may want to explain why you'd want that. If it's primarily to get around their 90 minute limit that may present challengers regarding their relationship to developers.
Do make the requests though but understand the challenges in this case.
http://www.telestream.net/tele...upport.htm?contact=yes

-------------------------
CraigS
Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator
 5/12/2016 2:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
webneticos

Posts: 1
Joined: 5/12/2016

After reading this specific thread, we went ahead and upgraded to Wirecast Studio so that we can do the Facebook Live/Youtube Live simultaneous dance, then this happened:

"Streaming to specific destinations other than Facebook is restricted

Facebook policies allow recording your stream locally or streaming to generic RTMP destinations, however, streaming to other destinations is disabled".

Explain THIS!!!!
 5/12/2016 4:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigS

Posts: 54277
Joined: 4/4/2007

Answer Answer
Facebook changed their policy. One might guess they want exclusivity since people were probably sending eyeballs to YouTube.
Sigh! People could make requests to change the policy to Facebook but they're probably looking at lost ad revenue if they allow people to stream to YouTube so they may not be inclined to change.
Sorry but this is not our decision, we have to comply to their requirements.

-------------------------
CraigS
Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator
 5/13/2016 2:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Fotokimster

Posts: 86
Joined: 4/15/2014

That's just... ..such a dumb thing of Facebook to do. Now I need to figure out if I must update to 6.0.8 or stay, or bring another computer, or just run to Wirecast sessions on one computer.
So so unnecessary of Facebook to do things like that.

-------------------------
@fotokimster
 5/13/2016 9:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigS

Posts: 54277
Joined: 4/4/2007

Yes this "feature" was implemented in Wirecast 6.0.8... as required by Facebook.

-------------------------
CraigS
Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator
 5/23/2016 4:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
armatt

Posts: 2
Joined: 5/5/2016

That's rubbish Facebook. Understand it's not your call though team Wirecast... no bad blood with you!

I can see why it makes sense to them in a meeting room in Palo Alto but it's terrible in practice for real world businesses that need a robust video platform - which Facebook's simply is not.

Will not be updating to 6.0.8 or higher for as long as I can avoid it.
 5/23/2016 2:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigS

Posts: 54277
Joined: 4/4/2007

I understand. Some of us wish it were different.

-------------------------
CraigS
Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator

FuseTalk Basic Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2018 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

MOVING TO NEW FORUM link https://telestreamforum.forumbee.com This forum will become READ ONLY on Wednesday May 25, 2016