MOVING TO NEW FORUM link https://telestreamforum.forumbee.com This forum will become READ ONLY on Wednesday May 25, 2016

Telestream Community Forum
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Wirecast Pro Audio: Audio/ video isolated via Firewire?
Topic Summary: can the audio be separated from video on a firewire feed?
Created On: 6/23/2013 6:20 PM
Status Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Topic Tools Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 6/23/2013 6:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stephanwb

Posts: 34
Joined: 1/3/2011

I'm mulling over some multicam solutions. I'll eventually go with something more robust, but want to still use my current firewire solution for now...

If I have an HDV cam hooked up to a MBP retina and
have an HDMI cam (DSLR 5d mkiii) hooked up via intensity extreme
and have wirecast pro...

... can I have the audio connection from the HDV cam be the constant audio source, even if I switch the video shot to the DSLR?

Wirecast (non pro) doesn't recognize the audio channel as separate from the video when feed comes in via firewire. Can pro? Is my above scenario possible?

Thanks in advance!

Stephan

-------------------------
*****
Stephan Boeker | Executive Producer
Web: http://livemauiwebcast.com
Facebook:http://www.facebook.com/pages/...ddings-on-Stream-and-D
 6/23/2013 8:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mmoon

Posts: 720
Joined: 9/10/2011

The answer to your question is yes, but...

I would think mixing HDV and HDMI would present issues with syncing. The HDV source is highly compressed and Wirecast needs to decode it first. This puts a delay on the video, so the audio needs a delay to match which the pro version can do. But if you delay it, now your HDMI cam is out of sync. In certain circumstances this isn't a problem if your delayed cam doesn't need to sync with the other(s). There's been some requests for a video delay of some sort, but I think that would be a bigger challenge for the programmers.

Someone else should confirm my suspicion before you take it as gospel.



-------------------------
OS: OSX 10.10
Wirecast v6
CPU: 2014 iMac Quad i7
RAM: 16 GB DDR3
Cameras: Canon HF10 x5
Capture Media: BM TVS and BM Intensity Extreme
Audio: Behringer RX1202FX with DEQ2496 converter
Monitors: BM SmartView Duo
Recording: BM Hyperdeck Studio
 6/23/2013 9:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
littledog

Posts: 610
Joined: 5/27/2012

Yeah Mmoon is correct, it will be a nightmare, save up and drop HDV and save yourself a load of headaches.
 6/24/2013 2:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stephanwb

Posts: 34
Joined: 1/3/2011

I understand what you're saying. So the audio portion of the HDV stream is also subject to the same compress/ decompress process as the HD video?

If it weren't then it would stand to reason that the HDV video signal be out of synch with it's own audio (if it's processed separately)? I use regular wirecast right now, and that's not the case. The audio is totally in synch with video.

If the audio is subject to the codec process, then I can see how the HDMI would be out of synch with it.

I hear you guys though on it probably being a smart idea to forego the pain and the tinkering and just upgrade to SDI or HDMI. The economics just need to justify the investment.

Thanks for the help. If you still have a quick insight on my question above, that would be great.


-------------------------
*****
Stephan Boeker | Executive Producer
Web: http://livemauiwebcast.com
Facebook:http://www.facebook.com/pages/...ddings-on-Stream-and-D
 6/24/2013 3:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mmoon

Posts: 720
Joined: 9/10/2011

With its own audio HDV is OK on its own. Bringing in audio from a mixer is a different story, or trying to match an HDMI camera with it.

You can find some used camcorders for relatively cheap on ebay or Amazon. I got all my Canons that way.

I still drool a little bit looking at that BM 4K cinema camera though.

-------------------------
OS: OSX 10.10
Wirecast v6
CPU: 2014 iMac Quad i7
RAM: 16 GB DDR3
Cameras: Canon HF10 x5
Capture Media: BM TVS and BM Intensity Extreme
Audio: Behringer RX1202FX with DEQ2496 converter
Monitors: BM SmartView Duo
Recording: BM Hyperdeck Studio
 6/24/2013 9:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
littledog

Posts: 610
Joined: 5/27/2012

As ever Mmoon is right again, mixing them is a whole load of trouble, we did it for one shoot and then dropped HDV, not only was the audio out of sync but you could also see the quality change on the camera when switching.
 6/24/2013 4:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigS

Posts: 54277
Joined: 4/4/2007

HDV decode would lag behind HDMI/SDI input decode.
Additionally HDV video may decode ahead of HDV audio.
As others have mentioned I would not mix the two if sync were critical.

-------------------------
CraigS
Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator

FuseTalk Basic Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2019 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

MOVING TO NEW FORUM link https://telestreamforum.forumbee.com This forum will become READ ONLY on Wednesday May 25, 2016