MOVING TO NEW FORUM link https://telestreamforum.forumbee.com This forum will become READ ONLY on Wednesday May 25, 2016

Telestream Community Forum
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Facebook Live Stream wont play on iphone/ipad
Topic Summary:
Created On: 5/10/2016 12:41 AM
Status Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Topic Tools Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 5/10/2016 12:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
xxkillerxx32

Posts: 1
Joined: 5/10/2016

Hello, i've recently started live streaming on facebook, the streams works perfect if viewed on a desktop pc, some users reported they couldnt view the live stream on an iphone or ipad, so i tried viewing the streams on both my iphone/ipad and always have the same problem, I tried opening the live streama and they wouldnt play, it just stayed with the little spinning circle as if it was trying to load it but it never did, i tried clicking the play button/hd on facebook but nothing worked. Any ideas what could be wrong?

Im using the default output settings for the stream. I didnt touch or change anything. the encoder is set for x264 @ 720p @ 30fps, quality 3 (very fast encoding) the profile is set to Main and key frame every 240 frames audio is aac @ 192kbits / 44.100 khz as i said i didnt touch any of these settings

Any help or ideas would be greatly appreciated!

Edited: 5/10/2016 at 1:30 AM by xxkillerxx32
 5/11/2016 2:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigS

Posts: 54277
Joined: 4/4/2007

There may be an issue of Facebook's side on delivering live HTTP streams (HLS) which is the process it must do to deliver to iPhones. I believe others have noted this as well.

-------------------------
CraigS
Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator
 5/11/2016 2:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigS

Posts: 54277
Joined: 4/4/2007

BTW I can confirm the issue. It's as if the stream never buffers. This looks like a problem on their end with iOS compatibility.

-------------------------
CraigS
Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator
 5/17/2016 5:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
macwebcaster

Posts: 2
Joined: 3/25/2009

I experienced the same issue when I webcasted from my Wirecast to Facebook Live. While I was not able to play my webcast from my Wirecast with my iPhone, I was able to play other webcasts at Facebook Live with my iPhone. What do you think? I guess Facebook Live itself is compatible with iOS playback (meaning HLS), but live feed from Wirecast fails with some reasons (for example, that can be encoding parameters of RTMP feed). I hope you will find the way to solve this issue.

Edited: 5/17/2016 at 5:45 PM by macwebcaster
 5/17/2016 6:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigS

Posts: 54277
Joined: 4/4/2007

It may be related to the API Facebook distributes.
Do yo know the source of the other Facebook Live stream? Were they from the Facebook mobile app or some other source?


-------------------------
CraigS
Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator
 5/17/2016 10:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
macwebcaster

Posts: 2
Joined: 3/25/2009

Prior to LIVE API, mobile app is the only one that feed live to FB, I beieve.

https://www.facebook.com/help/1636872026560015
http://newsroom.fb.com/news/20...ive-video-on-facebook/
 5/17/2016 11:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigS

Posts: 54277
Joined: 4/4/2007

There may now be other programs using the API that's why I ask if you know the source of the stream that works on iPhone.
Fill out the form to report the issue but we need to determine if the issue is specific to the API or otherwise how we're using.
http://www.telestream.net/tele...upport.htm?contact=yes

-------------------------
CraigS
Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator
 5/18/2016 8:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigS

Posts: 54277
Joined: 4/4/2007

I tested in another desktop program and got the same results as Wirecast. I suspect the issue is with Facebook API.

-------------------------
CraigS
Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator

FuseTalk Basic Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2018 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

MOVING TO NEW FORUM link https://telestreamforum.forumbee.com This forum will become READ ONLY on Wednesday May 25, 2016