MOVING TO NEW FORUM link https://telestreamforum.forumbee.com This forum will become READ ONLY on Wednesday May 25, 2016

Telestream Community Forum
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: nVidia GPU issues
Topic Summary: text overlays are pixellated when sing nVidia
Created On: 4/12/2016 11:21 PM
Status Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Topic Tools Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 4/12/2016 11:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pesi

Posts: 279
Joined: 12/24/2008

I have a Lenovo laptop which has an integrated Intel graphics display + an nVidia geForce Quadra K1000M graphics card.

Recently I had an issue with WC stopping responding temporarily when editing any source settings or output settings. I thought it was due to a display card issue so I reinstalled the nVidia drivers and enabled the GPU as the default, but this did not solve the problem. Regardless, the issue described below has been coming up in both Windows 10 and the earlier Windows 7...

When the defaults are used in the display settings, Wirecast does not appear to use the nVidia GPU (?) as seen from the nVidia icon. Is this normal? Would WC only use the second display card only when necessary?

However, when I enable the nVidia card as the default for the display to be used by WC, there is a marked pixellation of the text overlay shots created in WC.

Reverting to the integrated card makes the pixellation go away.
However I am concerned because I would like WC to use the higher performance GPU instead of the integrated display, but cannot because of the pixellation effect.

This is WC 6.0.6 on Windows 10 home.
The nVidia drivers are current.
Windows 10 was reinstalled.
WC was completely reinstalled and new projects were created.

Support has not been able to provide much help either.

-------------------------
Pesi
www.eventcastlive.ca
Lenovo W530 i7 quad-core
16 GB ram; 2 HDDs
2 Firewire buses (1 via ExpressCard)
USB 3 with Startech capture device for Hdmi
Windows 10 home
 4/12/2016 11:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigS

Posts: 54277
Joined: 4/4/2007

Some laptops with integrated and separate GPU may default to the integrated GPU under some circumstances.
There could be a means to control this in the OS.
More recent versions of Wirecast improved the use of nVidia GPUs.

Do you have Wirecast Preferences, Render using YUV colorspace on the GPU enabled?
Are you using the default fonts for the text overlay?

Can you provide screenshots for each GPU?

-------------------------
CraigS
Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator
 4/12/2016 11:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pesi

Posts: 279
Joined: 12/24/2008

I did control this in the nVidia control panel by specifying that WC should use the nVidia GPU - this is what is causing the aliasing (pixellation). As soon as I revert to the default (integrated) the text shows up real smooth again.

Yes I do have YUV enabled in prefs.
The font I was using was just plain Arial - is that OK?

I'll post images of the 2 screenshots.

-------------------------
Pesi
www.eventcastlive.ca
Lenovo W530 i7 quad-core
16 GB ram; 2 HDDs
2 Firewire buses (1 via ExpressCard)
USB 3 with Startech capture device for Hdmi
Windows 10 home
 4/13/2016 12:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigS

Posts: 54277
Joined: 4/4/2007

Do post the screenshots as soon as you can.

-------------------------
CraigS
Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator
 4/13/2016 12:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pesi

Posts: 279
Joined: 12/24/2008

I already sent them to you by email reply...

-------------------------
Pesi
www.eventcastlive.ca
Lenovo W530 i7 quad-core
16 GB ram; 2 HDDs
2 Firewire buses (1 via ExpressCard)
USB 3 with Startech capture device for Hdmi
Windows 10 home
 4/13/2016 12:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigS

Posts: 54277
Joined: 4/4/2007

Please post in the forum so support engineers can see.

-------------------------
CraigS
Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator
 4/13/2016 12:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pesi

Posts: 279
Joined: 12/24/2008





-------------------------
Pesi
www.eventcastlive.ca
Lenovo W530 i7 quad-core
16 GB ram; 2 HDDs
2 Firewire buses (1 via ExpressCard)
USB 3 with Startech capture device for Hdmi
Windows 10 home
 4/13/2016 12:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pesi

Posts: 279
Joined: 12/24/2008

Do you see them? I could not find an option to attach a file(?)

-------------------------
Pesi
www.eventcastlive.ca
Lenovo W530 i7 quad-core
16 GB ram; 2 HDDs
2 Firewire buses (1 via ExpressCard)
USB 3 with Startech capture device for Hdmi
Windows 10 home
 4/13/2016 12:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pesi

Posts: 279
Joined: 12/24/2008

The images can also be viewed on this page

-------------------------
Pesi
www.eventcastlive.ca
Lenovo W530 i7 quad-core
16 GB ram; 2 HDDs
2 Firewire buses (1 via ExpressCard)
USB 3 with Startech capture device for Hdmi
Windows 10 home
 4/13/2016 12:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigS

Posts: 54277
Joined: 4/4/2007

Thanks. A very clear difference in quality. Integrated GPU looks much better.
Fill out the form and link to this forum thread and we'll investigate.
http://www.telestream.net/tele...upport.htm?contact=yes

-------------------------
CraigS
Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator
 4/14/2016 11:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pesi

Posts: 279
Joined: 12/24/2008

support request has been sent via the form.

I even installed an older v. of WC on another laptop (Win 7 64-bit) which has ONLY an nVidia card and no integrated card, to see if my new machine gpu card had crapped out.

However, the same issue occurred on the second machine as well, proving its not a bad card issue but a probable incompatibility of WC with nVidia drivers(?) - of course the latest drivers were used.

Hopefully support can provide a fix...

-------------------------
Pesi
www.eventcastlive.ca
Lenovo W530 i7 quad-core
16 GB ram; 2 HDDs
2 Firewire buses (1 via ExpressCard)
USB 3 with Startech capture device for Hdmi
Windows 10 home
 4/15/2016 6:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigS

Posts: 54277
Joined: 4/4/2007

I know we have worked on improving the quality of YUV GPU which had affected nvidia cards. Looks like there's more to investigate.

-------------------------
CraigS
Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator
 5/3/2016 10:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pesi

Posts: 279
Joined: 12/24/2008

So I got a very disappointing response from support. According to them there is a "very minimal difference in quality" between the 2 samples and "they are not going to attempt to fix it"!

I was quite annoyed by the fact that the engineers do not wish to try and improve the quality of the product.

As you yourself noticed Craig, the difference in quality is quite clear and my clients also notice it when they see the text overlays being so aliased compared to what it used to be before.

-------------------------
Pesi
www.eventcastlive.ca
Lenovo W530 i7 quad-core
16 GB ram; 2 HDDs
2 Firewire buses (1 via ExpressCard)
USB 3 with Startech capture device for Hdmi
Windows 10 home
 5/4/2016 12:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigS

Posts: 54277
Joined: 4/4/2007

Hmm, sorry to hear that.

-------------------------
CraigS
Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator
 5/16/2016 6:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pavelpetrcz

Posts: 3
Joined: 5/16/2016

Hello, I have very similar problem with my Lenovo. In general I can not use Wirecast for streaming or recording video in 1080p because of GPU usage. When I change it to 720p x264 it works fine, when I stream or record. Not both at same time.

I am just wondering what is wrong, because I am running Lenovo Y700-15ISK with Intel Core i7 i7-6700HQ 2,6 GHz with RAM 8 GB 64bit Win8.1 Enterprise with Nvidia GeForce GTX 960M, fully updated with SSD 128 GB.

And GPU usage can easily go to 100 % and I am not using the highest possible quality. Is there any solution, which can you recommend me?

For example this video was recorded in Wirecast to MP4 and then uploaded to video - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eK5w_qR5A8A All graphics are just regular PNG pictures. I use AverMedia card as a input for Wirecast and regular USB input for sound from my AKG P120.

Thanks for any help.

Pavel
 5/16/2016 8:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigS

Posts: 54277
Joined: 4/4/2007

Wirecast currently does use the GPU very heavily so I'm not sure what the gauge is measuring relative to Wirecast.
Pesi's post has to do with quality of Wirecast text in lower thirds.


-------------------------
CraigS
Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator
 5/19/2016 2:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pavelpetrcz

Posts: 3
Joined: 5/16/2016

So then if I have problems with Wirecast running at 99 % of CPU but because of another problem, should I add new topic to this forum?
 5/19/2016 6:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigS

Posts: 54277
Joined: 4/4/2007

Yes do start another topic and I'll work with you on it. Make sure you include the computer specs as you did above.

-------------------------
CraigS
Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator

FuseTalk Basic Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2018 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

MOVING TO NEW FORUM link https://telestreamforum.forumbee.com This forum will become READ ONLY on Wednesday May 25, 2016