MOVING TO NEW FORUM link https://telestreamforum.forumbee.com This forum will become READ ONLY on Wednesday May 25, 2016

Telestream Community Forum
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Why does SF keep freezing
Topic Summary:
Created On: 5/24/2016 7:12 PM
Status Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Topic Tools Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 5/24/2016 7:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
brettr

Posts: 128
Joined: 5/22/2013

I've created a new blank 1280x720 document. I've dragged 3 small MP4 files into this document. The largest of these files is 1.3MB. I'm not able to do any editing because SF is always freezing (spiny icon). Is there a way to fix this?

I have to keep forcing quit and do a little, rinse/repeat.
 5/24/2016 9:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigS

Posts: 54277
Joined: 4/4/2007

I'd like to help but I need technical details. Please read READ BEFORE POSTING near the top of this forum.
Could be issues decoding the H.264 .mp4 codec but all I can do is guess without technical details. Please read the referred to post and add them.

-------------------------
CraigS
Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator
 5/25/2016 2:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
brettr

Posts: 128
Joined: 5/22/2013

So now I can't even record because SF freezes up after it starts.

Macbook Pro 15" Retina w/45GB SD free and 16GB RAM
SF 5.0.6
OSX 10.11.5
 5/25/2016 4:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigS

Posts: 54277
Joined: 4/4/2007

Download this utility and use only the Reset Preferences check box and see if that fixes the start up freeze.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/qfcp...ort%20CST.app.zip?dl=0

-------------------------
CraigS
Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator
 5/25/2016 4:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigS

Posts: 54277
Joined: 4/4/2007

Please note this forum will be set to Read Only at the end of the day as we have moved to new forum software.
https://telestreamforum.forumb...om/category/screenflow

-------------------------
CraigS
Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator
 5/25/2016 4:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
brettr

Posts: 128
Joined: 5/22/2013

It seems to be working now. But all of my export presets are gone. How do I get those back?
 5/25/2016 7:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigS

Posts: 54277
Joined: 4/4/2007

Our Presets or your custom presets?
Reseting preferences shouldn't impact our own presets.
If our presets are gone, you can reinstall ScreenFlow.

-------------------------
CraigS
Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator
 5/25/2016 7:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
brettr

Posts: 128
Joined: 5/22/2013

Where are all of the presets I created? That took a lot of time.
 5/25/2016 8:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigS

Posts: 54277
Joined: 4/4/2007

Reseting preferences bring things back to an original state. The user created settings are part of the preferences. Even if one had a backup of the preferences, bringing them back would bring back the corrupted preferences. This is the quandary faced in many applications as "user preferences" are, by nature, user settings. I understand the problem but this is the issue around corrupted preferences (user preferences, aka user settings).


-------------------------
CraigS
Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator
 5/25/2016 8:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
brettr

Posts: 128
Joined: 5/22/2013

Oh nice. So you wait to tell me that after the fact? Why?
 5/25/2016 9:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigS

Posts: 54277
Joined: 4/4/2007

Sorry but if they need to be reset there's not much choice. You could hand write and re-enter the settings but if the program is freezing even getting to that point might not be viable.
What some people do is make a copy of the preferences while they're good, just in case they every need to be reset. This way you're adding back a known good set of preferences. Sorry about that but at the point the program's freezing copying the corrupted preferences wouldn't work. Basically Preferences = User Settings (user preferences).

-------------------------
CraigS
Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator
 5/25/2016 10:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
brettr

Posts: 128
Joined: 5/22/2013

I have a Time Capsule. Where do I look for the old preferences file so I can restore and get the values?
 5/25/2016 11:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigS

Posts: 54277
Joined: 4/4/2007

Macintosh HD, Users, username, Library, Preferences
net.telestream.screenflow5.plist
net.telestream.screenflow5.LSSharedFileList.plist

If it was saved before the corruption it would be OK. if the most recent version results in problems like the freeze you can go further back in time.

-------------------------
CraigS
Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator
 5/26/2016 3:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
brettr

Posts: 128
Joined: 5/22/2013

I restored both of those files using versions from 3AM this morning. I only see one of my presets. Where are all the others?
 5/26/2016 4:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigS

Posts: 54277
Joined: 4/4/2007

Hmm, if you gained back one of your presets it would seem the others didn't make it into the time machine backup. Depending on what time you used perhaps you need to go earlier or later if it wasn't the most recent.

-------------------------
CraigS
Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator
 5/26/2016 4:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigS

Posts: 54277
Joined: 4/4/2007

Forum is now being set to read only. please make further post in the new forum link as previously posted.

-------------------------
CraigS
Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator

FuseTalk Basic Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2018 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

MOVING TO NEW FORUM link https://telestreamforum.forumbee.com This forum will become READ ONLY on Wednesday May 25, 2016