MOVING TO NEW FORUM link https://telestreamforum.forumbee.com This forum will become READ ONLY on Wednesday May 25, 2016

Telestream Community Forum
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Camera Recommendations anyone?
Topic Summary: Looking for suggestions about OSX video input device.
Created On: 4/8/2010 3:26 PM
Status Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Topic Tools Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 4/8/2010 3:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
studiosmart

Posts: 4
Joined: 4/8/2010

Hi fellow screencasters,

I have yet to use the video input aspect of SF and want to. I'm interested in picking up a decent camcorder that will also work as a 'live' video input device for ScreenFlow.

Any suggestions?


Thanks

Chris

-------------------------
Chris Bryant
Music Technology Specialist | Educator
http://www.showmeprotools.com
 4/8/2010 8:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
studiosmart

Posts: 4
Joined: 4/8/2010

Anyone using the Canon FS200, FS300, or FS20 as a live video input into screenflow?

-------------------------
Chris Bryant
Music Technology Specialist | Educator
http://www.showmeprotools.com
 4/9/2010 2:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigS

Posts: 54277
Joined: 4/4/2007

A standard def camera with live video firewire or USB output should work.
I believe the Canon FS series has composite out which would require and analog to firewire convertor.
I believe the USB is only for file data transfer.

-------------------------
CraigS
Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator
 4/9/2010 3:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
studiosmart

Posts: 4
Joined: 4/8/2010

Thanks Craig.

-------------------------
Chris Bryant
Music Technology Specialist | Educator
http://www.showmeprotools.com
 4/9/2010 5:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigS

Posts: 54277
Joined: 4/4/2007

You're welcome of course. It's certainly a quandary for people give the DV cameras are becoming scarce and file based cameras all seem to be either analog or HDMI out live, both of which require conversion.

-------------------------
CraigS
Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator
 4/9/2010 6:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
studiosmart

Posts: 4
Joined: 4/8/2010

Yes. Looks like only the upper end camcorders have IEEE1394/Firewire DV out.

My solution for now: Bought the Canon FS200 (which seemed like a better buy than the newer FS300, feature/dollar wise).
Will buy the Canopus ADVC-100. This should allow me to convert the Analog Video Out of the Camcorder into a DV/Firewire signal that the Mac; iMovie and Screenflow, will be able to use.

Will post my results once I've proven it works.




-------------------------
Chris Bryant
Music Technology Specialist | Educator
http://www.showmeprotools.com
 4/9/2010 8:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigS

Posts: 54277
Joined: 4/4/2007

That setup should work. Do post back.

-------------------------
CraigS
Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator
 4/11/2010 5:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mtchandler

Posts: 1
Joined: 4/11/2010

I have a Unibody macbook that does not have a firewire drive will screen flow see a camera that is attached via usb? Here is what we are trying to do. I am the president of a 50 + member Mac user Group. We want to start recording our programs but want to have as little editing as possible which has lead me to your software. We could have a camera that records the presenter and his screen. We want to have the camera near the back of the room and then the presenters screen and audio would be handled by the macbook. But if I can not get the camcorder into my usb and have screen flow handle it then I seem to be out of luck any suggestions?
 4/12/2010 4:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Turtleknife

Posts: 93
Joined: 3/23/2010

Originally posted by: CraigS
A standard def camera with live video firewire or USB output should work.
I believe the Canon FS series has composite out which would require and analog to firewire convertor.
I believe the USB is only for file data transfer.


Wait a minute Craig. Are you saying that while I am making a screenflow recording, I can use a video camera that is hooked up via firewire and record live onto a screenflow project?

-------------------------
Screenflow and Keynote Tutorials:
http://www.ComboCasting.com
 4/12/2010 4:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigS

Posts: 54277
Joined: 4/4/2007

A DV camera with firewire out should work or an analog to firewire convertor.

-------------------------
CraigS
Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator
 9/6/2010 1:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RevD

Posts: 2
Joined: 9/6/2010

I never saw a reply back from studiosmart... how did it go?

I have a Canon FS200 - want to use it with screenflow - do I need the Canopus ADVC-100 - or can I use something like Dazzle for Mac?

please help!
 9/7/2010 8:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigS

Posts: 54277
Joined: 4/4/2007

Canopus ADVC-55 might work. I'm not sure about the Dazzle but if you can get it with the ability to return it, it might be worth a shot.

-------------------------
CraigS
Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator
 10/20/2010 4:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cmbloss2

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/20/2010

Is anyone using a camera with HDMI out with wirecast?
 10/21/2010 2:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigS

Posts: 54277
Joined: 4/4/2007

This is ScreenFlow forum. I use Canon Vixia HF200 HDMI out to MXO2 with both Wirecast and ScreenFlow. Works fine in Wirecast. In ScreenFlow, audio must come from other than MXO2.

-------------------------
CraigS
Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator
 7/21/2011 3:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jgarnerprod

Posts: 4
Joined: 7/21/2011

Hi,

I'm also trying the "live" video input, and both cameras I have (a cheap usb camera, and a nicer Samsung MMC+plus camera) show up as selectable options on the "record video from" pulldown menus.

BUT, I'm not seeing video on that screen, or when I got to do a screen recording.

I'm sure I'm doing something really stupid, even one or two buttons away, but haven't figure it out.

Can you help me?

Thanks for this forum!!

Jason Garner
 7/21/2011 9:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigS

Posts: 54277
Joined: 4/4/2007

Have you updated to ScreenFlow 2.1.10?
What OS are you using?
Can you list specific camera model numbers?
Have you checked both cameras in PhotoBooth to make sure they're Mac compatible?

-------------------------
CraigS
Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator
 7/25/2011 8:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jgarnerprod

Posts: 4
Joined: 7/21/2011

Sorry to not respond sooner.

Using OS 10.5.5.

The video camera is Samsung SC-MX20/XAA.

The "cheap" usb camera just has a "iHome" label on it.

FYI, I can get the "iHome" camera to work fine on Skype on the same computer that I'm trying to do "screenflow" on.

What is PhotoBooth? I'll check it out (whatever it is).

Thanks again for the help!

Jason Garner
 7/25/2011 2:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigS

Posts: 54277
Joined: 4/4/2007

PhotoBooth comes with all Macs. That will tell you if the Mac's own programs can handle the cameras.
Please go to Apple's site and update the OS to 10.5.8 using Apple's 10.5.8 Combo Updater (don't use Software Update) and test again also.

-------------------------
CraigS
Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator

Edited: 7/25/2011 at 2:34 PM by CraigS
 7/25/2011 3:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jgarnerprod

Posts: 4
Joined: 7/21/2011

Okay, so it's not showing up there. Not sure why it'll show up in Skype though.
 7/25/2011 6:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigS

Posts: 54277
Joined: 4/4/2007

Skype may have done their own implementation.
If it's not showing up in PhotoBooth it may mean Telestream has to have a look at compatibility.
The manual for the Samsung SC-MX20/XAA only mentions USB for data and not live video.
Are you sure you got it to work with Skype?

I see iHome video camera posted on various sites but not much technical details. Was the camera you had working in Skype?

-------------------------
CraigS
Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator
 7/25/2011 6:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jgarnerprod

Posts: 4
Joined: 7/21/2011

Hi, No, just the iHome camera worked in Skype. Makes sense about the Samsung camera not working.
 7/25/2011 8:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigS

Posts: 54277
Joined: 4/4/2007

For the Samsung camera you could use the AV out and a Grass Valley ADVC-55. That would convert the AV out to Firewire DV.

If the iHome works in Skype but not PhotoBooth there's probably some generally Mac issue that Skype was able to workaround.
Fill out the form and link to this forum thread so the support technicians can read.
http://www.telestream.net/tele...ow/contact-support.htm

-------------------------
CraigS
Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator

FuseTalk Basic Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2018 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

MOVING TO NEW FORUM link https://telestreamforum.forumbee.com This forum will become READ ONLY on Wednesday May 25, 2016